Wider? World? Web?

Join the debate with Neelie Kroes, Ingrid Lieten, Christian Van Thillo, Duco Sickinghe, Ben Hammersley,
Hugh Grant, Nick Mason (Pink Floyd) and many more!


Pan-European Forum on Media Pluralism and New Media

Hemicycle Debating Chamber of the EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT
Brussels, Place du Luxembourg/Luxembourg station

27 June 2012, 09.30-18.00

Don’t miss this extraordinary event: only 3 days left to register !


Do the new media contribute to, or undermine, a pluralistic public sphere? Do new technologies overcome bottlenecks related to traditional media – do they create new information gatekeepers? Should existing media ownership regulations for traditional media be relaxed, or extended to new media? Is there a need for diversity obligations (and can they be imposed) for online on-demand media? Should the EU take the initiative in the area of ownership regulation in this era of globalisation? How do we assess the role of publicly funded media, specifically public service broadcasters, but also, where relevant, subsidised press or online operations? How have Industries, such as the music industry, adapted to the challenges presented by the internet?

“Twenty years after the “big leap forward” in democracy, media pluralism is in trouble in too many countries in the wider Europe. Governmental or oligarchic monopolies are getting thicker by the year, and not only in post-Soviet nations but also inside the EU walls. The burgeoning Internet-based media alone cannot provide for a functioning diversity of public opinion, and yet they are already under attack. This Pan-European Forum should pick the brains of all those concerned for the future of our shared freedoms, and move the European Union beyond non-intervention, to become a protector of media diversity in our nations.” (Miklos Haraszti, former OSCE representative on Freedom of the Media, writer, journalist, human rights advocate and university professor – 7 June 2012)


Don’t miss this opportunity to follow – and take part in – this debate in the heart of the European Parliament with top speakers from the media, telecoms and internet industries, politics, regulators, judiciary, academics, NGOs and civil society, such as:

Neelie Kroes (Vice-President of the European Commission); Herta Däubler-Gmelin (member European Commission High Level Expert Group); Nils Muižnieks (Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights); Ženet Mujić (OSCE); Ingrid Lieten (Flemish Media Minister); Christian Van Thillo (CEO De Persgroep; Chairman European Commission Media Futures Group); Anu Nissinen (CEO Sanoma Media Finland); Tobias Schmid (Executive Vice-President Governmental Affairs, RTL–Group); Jean Paul Philipott (President EBU and CEO RTBF); Helen Boaden (Director BBC); Denis Staunton (Deputy Editor The Irish Times); Duco Sickinghe (CEO Telenet); Santiago de la Mora (Director Print Content Partnerships EMEA, Google); Erika Mann (Director EU Affairs, Facebook); Brian Message (Manager of Radiohead; Chairman, Music Managers’ Forum), Nick Mason (Pink Floyd), Hugh Grant (Film Actor)…


Reserve your seat and register today: http://www.mediapluralism.eu

(Registration will close on 22 June!)

Follow us on twitter: @NewMediaForum – #nmf27


click here to download the pdf document